Visitors from 31 states must quarantine when entering New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut

Stephanie Asymkos
·2 mins read

Visitors from more than half of the states must self-quarantine for 14 days when visiting New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut to slow the spread of COVID-19.

Governors Andrew Cuomo (D-NY), Ned Lamont (D-CT), and Phil Murphy (D-NJ) announced on Tuesday that travelers from ten states — Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia, and Washington — must abide by the tristate coronavirus travel restrictions. They join 21 other states whose residents already must quarantine when visiting.

It’s been less than a month since the governors of New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut first announced that certain domestic visitors must self-quarantine upon arrival. The number of affected states has incrementally grown from the initial nine in their original June 24 announcement to 31 now.

The advisory now includes visitors from the following states: Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.

Yahoo Money sister site Cashay has a weekly newsletter.
Yahoo Money sister site Cashay has a weekly newsletter.

The list expands and contracts based on a state’s active outbreak numbers. Visitors must self-quarantine if their home state has a positive test rate greater than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day average or with a case positive rate greater than 10% over the same period.

Last week, Cuomo said out-of-state visitors on the self-quarantine list must provide their contact information upon arrival. Failure to comply will result in a $2,000 summons.

Other states also require some element of self-quarantine or recent negative COVID-19 test results for out-of-state visitors including Alaska, Florida, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, New Mexico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Vermont.

Yahoo Money sister site Cashay has a weekly newsletter.
Yahoo Money sister site Cashay has a weekly newsletter.

Stephanie is a reporter for Yahoo Money and Cashay, a new personal finance website. Follow her on Twitter @SJAsymkos.

Read more:

Follow Yahoo Finance on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Flipboard, SmartNews, LinkedIn, YouTube, and reddit.

More From Yahoo Money