New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut on Tuesday again revised the list of states whose residents must self-quarantine when visiting the tristate area. Visitors from just 19 states can travel to the region freely.
Visitors from Hawaii and South Dakota now join 29 other states — plus Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands — that must self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival or be subject to fines as severe as $2,000 — at least in New York — for failing to provide contact information for tracing purposes.
Gov. Andrew Cuomo (D-NY), alongside Govs. Phil Murphy (D-NJ) and Ned Lamont (D-CT) first announced the joint travel advisory on June 24 to limit the transmission of COVID-19. The initial announcement included just nine states and has grown to 33 states and territories.
Each state is evaluated by its active outbreak numbers. Visitors must self-quarantine if their home state has a positive test rate greater than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day average or with a case positive rate greater than 10% over the same period.
The states subject to the self-quarantine rules are:
Other states also require some element of self-quarantine or recent negative COVID-19 test results for out-of-state visitors including Alaska, Florida, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, New Mexico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Vermont.